Shoulder Pain: Old Age Cometh

In June, my doctor sent me for x-rays and an MRI on my left shoulder. Then he sent me to an orthopedist who told me I need, and should consider, a shoulder replacement. I considered it and declined. He agreed to send me to physical therapy to see if I can get more mobility and strengthen the muscles, but advised that nothing will "fix" the shoulder. It isn’t like a knee or hip that hurts all the time. I can usually avoid any shoulder movements that hurt. In the future, if the pain gets to a point where it interferes with the quality of my life, I still have the option of trying some pain medications. I refused the prescription he wanted to give me now. Aleve is working well enough when I need it. I can also consider getting Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) injections. If all else fails, I have a big enough opening on my calendar for a shoulder replacement surgery in the spring of 2065.

comments powered by Disqus