Sharing with my furbabies...

We have never given our dogs people food. As a result, begging behaviors are very rare. I have found one thing they go crazy for and can't seem to resist. Recently, I have started having a sweet potato for an evening snack. I nuke it for six minutes, let it cool, peel it, then eat it. Vinny was the first to notice. He came barreling out of our bedroom and went around the loft sniffing to find where the smell was coming from. The sweet potato was high on a shelf cooling off. I gave him a nibble when I ate it a few minutes later. Olive came the next time. She even went behind the loveseat sniffing. I gave her a nibble, too. Now, whenever I have a sweet potato cooling, they come and wait with me. Then, when it is cool, they sit there staring at me hoping for a nibble. We all sit on the love seat. Vinny gets a tiny nibble. Olive gets a tiny nibble. Daddy gets a big bite. This is repeated until it is all gone. Then Vinny goes back to the bedroom. Olive curls up beside me. I go back to whatever I was doing.

comments powered by Disqus