Opening Doors.... Or, NOT!

Rachel had a little white Chevy Malibu a while back. I found it on sale online at a dealership in Boerne. I don’t remember where in the progression of our vehicles it was. I just remember that it was the perfect car for the time at a super duper price. Like all of our cars, we had it for many years.

I do know that we still had my huge Dodge conversion van, which we always used as the family car. I almost never rode in or drove the Malibu until I inherited it when we traded the van in for a new car. That new car was Rachel’s, as we always went every other vehicle to determine who got the new one.

The first time I drove the Malibu, I was told that the back left passenger door could not be opened from the inside. I accepted that. It was rarely necessary for me to seat someone there, and we were now using Rachel’s much nicer new Malibu as the family vehicle. I was as frugal as Rachel, and did not see a reason to get it fixed.

About a year after it became my car, I drove Joshua and his buddy Anthony up to UT in Austin after they had come home for Thanksgiving. When we pulled into a restaurant for lunch, I watched in complete shock as Anthony opened the back left passenger door with no issues and let himself out. I asked him how he had done it. He simply stated that he had switched it off of the child lock position. I wondered why my sons hadn’t been smart enough to figure that out after all those years of thinking it was broken.

comments powered by Disqus