Messy Memory

I have mentioned before how I try to make myself write down anecdotes that pop in my head. Here’s a new one.

Today, as I was cleaning up the kitchen after cooking a batch of tilapia Parmesan, I thought to myself how things have changed since the early years of parenthood when the house was not always in a very good state. Nowadays, we (read that mostly as Rachel) make a strong effort to always have the house clean and tidy. There might be a few things out of place on a counter or table, but for the most part, all we need for a company visit is a quick dusting and vacuuming. That was not always the case.

Around the time that Joshua (N1S) was five, we had trouble keeping up with things. We were much more concerned with doing things like playing with Josh to worry too much about the house. Back then, if we knew company was coming, we would spend a day or two to put the house in order. After the visit, things got progressively more messy as the days went on.

Now before I go any further, let me stress to you that I am talking about clutter kinds of mess. Our home has never been "unsanitary". Places that needed to be cleaned routinely for the health and safety of the family were well taken care of. The kitchen and bathrooms, for example, were always kept clean with the exception of a little clutter here and there.

In 1995, on the day Rachel was going to give birth to Jared (N2S), our house was an absolute mess! We were scrambling to get things in place like childcare and dog care. We were waiting for my parents to come and get Josh and the dog to take them to their house. Rachel was either busy packing or taking care of other details upstairs. Suddenly, the doorbell rang. Our pastor had come to pray with us before we went to the hospital. I was horrified! He had never been in our house before and the thought of him seeing it like it was that day made me more embarrassed than I can describe. I reluctantly let him take about three steps into the house.

Before I even had time to say hello, Joshua bolted into the front room, grabbed Pastor’s hand, and led him to the back of the house to show him the pet anole that we put in an aquarium for him to observe. I just followed along pretending like I didn’t notice the messy house, and hoping that Pastor wouldn’t either.

My mind is a blur after that. I kind of remember Rachel joining us downstairs and Pastor Jeff leading us in prayer. He didn’t stay long after that. I was relieved to see him go.

It is funny to me how cleaning up after cooking dinner can send your mind on a trip to the past. I’m glad I took the time to write this down. These insignificant little anecdotes are what tell the true stories of our lives. It’s not the major events and vacations, but out day to day occurrences that are most fun to look back on.


comments powered by Disqus